An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

You are viewing ARCHIVED CONTENT released online from January 20, 2017 to January 20, 2021.

Content in this archive site is NOT UPDATED, and links may not function.

For current information, go to

2020 IWOC Awardees

2020 International Women of Courage Award

More About IWOC

Secretary of State Michael R. Pompeo and First Lady Melania Trump honored a group of extraordinary women with the 2020 Secretary of State’s International Women of Courage (IWOC) Award on Wednesday, March 4, 2020 at the Department of State.

Established in 2007, this annual award honors women around the world who have demonstrated exceptional courage, strength, and leadership to bring positive change to their communities, often at great personal risk and sacrifice.  To date, under the IWOC program, the U.S. Department of State has recognized 134 women from 73 countries.  This year will bring the total to 146 awardees from 77 countries.  All awardees have advocated for the protection of human rights, promoted the advancement of the status of women, and fostered peace and government transparency around the world.

The bios of the 2020 awardees are located here and their names are listed below:

Discover More

U.S. Department of State

The Lessons of 1989: Freedom and Our Future