An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

You are viewing ARCHIVED CONTENT released online from January 20, 2017 to January 20, 2021.

Content in this archive site is NOT UPDATED, and links may not function.

For current information, go to

12:00 Doors open for public
(Dean Acheson Auditorium)
13:15 Secretary Pompeo Opening Remarks
(Dean Acheson Auditorium)
13:20 – 13:30 Executive Secretary Dr. Peter Berkowitz Remarks
13:30 – 13:35 Chair Ambassador Glendon Remarks
13:35 – 14:05

Introduction of Commissioners – 3 minutes/each

Each commissioner introduces self, provides brief bio, states area of expertise and personal/professional interest in Commission’s work.

14:10 Chairwoman Glendon introduces first speaker
14:10 – 14:30 Remarks: Michael W. McConnell, Richard and Frances Mallery Professor and Director of the Constitutional Law Center, Stanford Law School, former judge – U.S. Court of Appeals for the 10th Circuit
14:30 – 15:15 Commissioners’ discussion with McConnell
15:15 Chairwoman Glendon introduces second speaker
15:15 – 15:35 Remarks: Wilfred M. McClay, G.T. and Libby Blankenship Chair in the History of Liberty, University of Oklahoma
15:35 – 16:20 Commissioners’ discussion with McClay
16:20 – 17:20 Public comment
17:20 – 17:30 Concluding remarks
17:30 – 17:45 Commission meeting adjourns


U.S. Department of State

The Lessons of 1989: Freedom and Our Future