An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

You are viewing ARCHIVED CONTENT released online from January 20, 2017 to January 20, 2021.

Content in this archive site is NOT UPDATED, and links may not function.

For current information, go to

Office of the Spokesperson
Washington, DC
September 22, 2017

The following is attributable to Spokesperson Heather Nauert:

Secretary of State Rex Tillerson and the Foreign Ministers of the Republic of Kazakhstan, the Kyrgyz Republic, the Republic of Tajikistan, the Republic of Uzbekistan, and the Permanent Representative of Turkmenistan held a ministerial level meeting on September 22, 2017,  in New York. The six countries recommitted to further deepening cooperation through engagement in the C5+1 format, and discussed ways to promote Afghanistan’s economic development within a regional framework.

U.S. Department of State

The Lessons of 1989: Freedom and Our Future