An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

You are viewing ARCHIVED CONTENT released online from January 20, 2017 to January 20, 2021.

Content in this archive site is NOT UPDATED, and links may not function.

For current information, go to

Senior officials from the United States, Australia, India, and Japan met virtually today as part of regular Quad consultations to advance a free, open, and inclusive Indo-Pacific region.  Today’s meeting followed the productive discussions held in Tokyo during the second Quad Foreign Ministers’ Meeting on October 6, 2020.

The four democracies discussed practical ways to cooperate on countering disinformation, to strengthen supply chain resiliency, and to coordinate efforts to support countries vulnerable to malign and coercive economic actions in the Indo-Pacific region.  The participants also explored opportunities for future Quad engagement on topics ranging from humanitarian assistance and disaster relief to coordinating efforts on COVID response and vaccines and expanding coordination in multilateral forums, including the United Nations and related organizations.

The officials reviewed recent strategic developments throughout the Indo-Pacific region, including the South China Sea, Hong Kong, Taiwan, and the Mekong sub-region.  The officials reaffirmed the Quad’s strong support for ASEAN centrality and ASEAN-led regional architecture.  The four countries welcome the opportunity to continue regular consultations, including at the Ministerial, senior official, and working levels as a testament to the growing diversity and depth of engagement among the Quad members.

U.S. Department of State

The Lessons of 1989: Freedom and Our Future